Lincoln County News | Newcastle, ME
Thursday, May 26, 2016 Serving Maine and Lincoln County for over a century. Volume 141 Issue 21


home : current news : news May 26, 2016

6/11/2014 12:35:00 PM
Damariscotta Voters Elect Russ to School Committee
By J.W. Oliver

Damariscotta voters elected write-in candidate Angela Russ to a three-year term on the Great Salt Bay School Committee June 10. Russ defeated Dana Orenstein 80-29.

Russ is the outgoing co-president of the Great Salt Bay Community School Parent-Teacher Organization.

She is also the co-founder and co-president of the nonprofit Friends of Great Salt Bay School Inc., which raises money to support the education of GSB students. Her three children attend the school.

Russ will succeed Great Salt Bay School Committee Chairwoman Sally Farrell, who will step down after 13 years on the committee.

The school committee race was the only contested race on the Damariscotta ballot.

Jim Cosgrove and George Parker will join the Damariscotta Board of Selectmen with 99 and 97 votes, respectively. Cosgrove and Parker will succeed Chairman Josh Pinkham and 2nd Vice Chairwoman Vicki Pinkham, who did not run for re-election.

Great Salt Bay Sanitary District Trustee John Gallagher will return for another three-year term with 192 votes.

Damariscotta voters also approved the elementary and secondary education budgets in validation referendum, 186-54 and 194-47, respectively.

Advanced Search

Contact Us
Email Subscription
Local Online


Lincoln County News
PH: 207-563-3171 | Fax: 207-563-3127
Mailing Address: PO Box 36, Damariscotta, ME 04543 | Plant Location: 116 Mills Rd., Newcastle, ME
copyright 2016 The Lincoln County News

Software © 1998-2016 1up! Software, All Rights Reserved