Lincoln County News | Newcastle, ME
Thursday, April 28, 2016 Serving Maine and Lincoln County for over a century. Volume 141 Issue 17


home : sports : sports April 28, 2016

3/26/2014 2:00:00 PM
Medomak Middle School Places Third, Widdecombe Wins East Regional Title
Eli Malburg picks up back points on Oceanside's Brennan Harris. Malburg won by 14-0 major decision. (Paula Roberts photo)
Eli Malburg picks up back points on Oceanside's Brennan Harris. Malburg won by 14-0 major decision. (Paula Roberts photo)
By Paula Roberts

Medomak Middle School placed third in the East Regional Middle School Wrestling Tournament, held at Medomak Valley High School on Saturday. Troy Howard (TH) won with 153.5 points, followed by Nokomis (N) 134.5, Medomak 125.5, Oceanside (OS) 100.5, Bucksport (B) 98, HAL (H) 95.5, Camden Rockport (CR) 85, Mt.View (M) 56, Hancock Area (HA) 55, Winslow (W) 51, Hampden (H) 50, Ellsworth (E) 42.5, and Messalonskee (M) 41.

Riverhawk Duncan Widdecombe won the 81-pound East Regional title; Eli Miller (130) and Korbin Daniels (155) placed second; Erik Benner (195) and Noah Munn (240) third; and Riley Micklich (75), Jacob Gess (105), Jacob Overlock (111), and Eli Malburg (137) fourth.

All nine Medomak Middle School wrestlers qualified for the Pine Tree State championships, to be held at Cony High School in Augusta on Saturday, March 29. Shane Cookson (87), Isaac McCollett (99) and Amos Hinkley (170) will go to States as alternates.

75 - Riley Micklich defeated Travis Hutchinson (B) 13-6, lost to Eric Andrews (H) by 14-2 decision, and beat Wyatt Staples (TH) by 17-0 tech fall to advance to the consolation finals. Micklich lost a 9-2 decision to Carter Fogarty (OS) to take fourth place.

81 - Duncan Widdecombe improved his record to 20-0 with an East Championship win. Widdecombe pinned Brian Henshaw (OS) in less than 30 seconds, pinned Marshall Sawyer (H) in 17 seconds, then beat Landon St. Peter (E) by 14-11 decision to win the championship.

87 - Shane Cookson pinned Grady Reardon (Ind) in 39 seconds, was pinned by Josh Brown (N) in 1:58, and was eliminated by Isaac Ham (TH) by 14-5 decision.

93 - Elijah Williams was pinned by Jacob Booth (N) in 25 seconds, and was eliminated by Oakley Dougans (HA) by 11-9 decision.

99 - Isaac McCollett was pinned by Devin Darveau (Bu) in 32 seconds, pinned Alex Chattley (E) in 3:34, and was eliminated by Devin Darveau (Bu) by fall in 1:07.

105 - Jakob Gess was pinned by Lucas Ames (No) in 2:25, drew a bye, and pinned Jacob Hamilton (E) in 13 seconds to advance to the consolation finals. Gess met up with Ames again in the consolation finals and was pinned in 1:37 to take fourth place.

111 - Jared Overlock was pinned by Andrew Gaithier (H) in 1:59, drew a bye, then pinned Hunter Thompson (TH) in 2:01 to advance to the consolation finals. Overlock was pinned by Gaithier to take fourth place.

130 - Eli Miller (15-1) drew a bye, then defeated Cameron Fredette (W) by 13-0 decision to advance to the championship round. Miller was pinned by Jacob Racioppi in 39 seconds in the finals to take second place.

137 - Eli Malburg defeated Brennan Harris (OS) by 14-0 major decision, was pinned by Mark Tocco (CR) in 30 seconds, and pinned Isabelle Lang (H) in 1:04 to advance to the consolation finals. Malburg was pinned by Alex Demers (W) in 2:00 in the consolation finals to take fourth place.

155 - Korbin Daniels (14-1) pinned Kenneth Dare (CR) in 1:25, and pinned CJ Upham (H) in 1:13 to advance to the championship round. Daniels was pinned by independent Autin Pelletier in 1:16 to take second place.

170 - Amos Hinkley was pinned by Eben Merrifield (CR) in 3:42, and was eliminated by Konnor Harford (TH) in 33 seconds.

195 - Erik Benner pinned Toby Pontillo (M) in 4:29, was pinned by Hunter Higgins (H) in 2:19, and pinned Alex Davis (CH) in 27 seconds to advance to the consolation finals. Benner pinned Toby Pontillo in the consolation finals in 1:14 to take third place.

240 - Noah Munn defeated Zoe Goff (OS) by 14-2 decision, drew a bye to the consolation finals, then he pinned Tyler Gerry (H) in 2:01 for third place.

Advanced Search

Contact Us
Email Subscription
Local Online


Lincoln County News
PH: 207-563-3171 | Fax: 207-563-3127
Mailing Address: PO Box 36, Damariscotta, ME 04543 | Plant Location: 116 Mills Rd., Newcastle, ME
copyright 2016 The Lincoln County News

Software © 1998-2016 1up! Software, All Rights Reserved